No.	<u>22-244, C</u> D1

RESOLUTION

CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTEES TO SERVE ON THE ECONOMIC REVITALIZATION COMMISSION OF THE CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU.

WHEREAS, Section 6-109, Revised Charter of the City and County of Honolulu, 1973 (2017 Edition), as amended ("Charter"), establishes an Economic Revitalization Commission ("Commission") consisting of nine members; and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 6-109, sets forth the duties of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Charter Section 13-103, the members of the Commission are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council ("Council") and serve for staggered five-year terms; and

WHEREAS, by Mayor's Message 194, dated October 12, 2022, the Mayor has appointed nine members with staggered terms to the Commission; and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 6-109(h) requires that the Commission members have expertise in small business, finance, sustainable economics, and community development; and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 13-103 requires that each appointee to the Commission be a registered voter of the City; and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City and County of Honolulu has reviewed the qualifications and character of the appointees and finds that each of the appointees qualifies to serve on the Commission; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the City and County of Honolulu that it confirms the Mayor's appointments of the following persons to serve on the Economic Revitalization Commission of the City and County of Honolulu:

- 1. Anthony Mizuno, for an initial one-year term;
- 2. Bobby-John "Olu" Campbell, for an initial two-year term;
- 3. Eliza Talbot Manchester, for an initial two-year term;
- 4. Deborah Lui-Anderson, for an initial three-year term;
- 5. Reid Chung, for an initial three-year term;

No.	22-244, CD1

RESOLUTION

- 6. Gregory Kim, for an initial four-year term;
- 7. Keoni Lee, for an initial four-year term;
- 8. Melialani James, for an initial five-year term; and
- 9. Olin Lagon, for an initial five-year term; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to these appointees for their commitment and willingness to actively participate in city government; and

BEIT FINALLY RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Executive Director of the Office of Economic Revitalization, and each of the persons approved by this resolution to serve on the Economic Revitalization Commission.

	INTRODUCED BY:
	Tommy Waters (br)
	890
DATE OF INTRODUCTION:	
DATE OF INTRODUCTION.	
October 13, 2022	
Honolulu, Hawai'i	Councilmembers

CITY COUNCIL CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU HONOLULU, HAWAII CERTIFICATE

RESOLUTION 22-244, CD1

Introduced:

10/13/22

By:

TOMMY WATERS - BY REQUEST

Committee:

COUNCIL/PUBLIC HEARING (PH)

HOUSING AND THE ECONOMY

(HECON)

Title:

CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTEES TO SERVE ON THE ECONOMIC REVITALIZATION COMMISSION OF THE

CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU.

Voting Legend: * = Aye w/Reservations

10/13/22	INTRO	Introduced.
10/21/22	PUBLISH	Public hearing notice published in the Honolulu Star-Advertiser.
11/02/22	CCL/PH	Public hearing closed and referred to Committee.
11/08/22		Councilmember Carol Fukunaga, representing Council District VI, resigned from office. [Refer to Communication CC-339(22)]
		Councilmember Brandon J.C. Elefante, representing Council District VIII, resigned from office. [Refer to Communication CC-338(22)]
11/15/22	HECON	Reported out for adoption as amended in CD1 form.
		CR-298
		5 AYES: CORDERO, KIA'ĀINA, SAY, TULBA, TUPOLA
11/29/22	CCL	Tyler Dos Santos-Tam was appointed to fill a vacancy in the Office of Councilmember for Council District VI. (Refer to RES22-272)
		Val A. Okimoto was appointed to fill a vacancy in the Office of Councilmember for Council District VIII. (Refer to RES22-273)
12/07/22	CCL	Committee report and Resolution as amended were adopted.
		9 AYES: CORDERO, DOS SANTOS-TAM, KIA'ĀINA, OKIMOTO, SAY, TSUNEYOSHI, TULBA, TUPOLA, WATERS

I hereby certify that the above is a true record of action by the Council of the City and County of Honolulu on this RESOLUTION.

GKEN I. TARAHASHI, CITY CLERK

TOMMY WATERS, CHAIR AND PRESIDING OFFICER